Kinda Beef Wellington

I had some leftover swedish meatballs in the fridge and didn’t want to just throw them over rice or noodles. Searching on pinterest, I stole some tips from several recipes and made something new which I will try again with leftover meatballs or ground beef when I have it. Below I will list the homemade flaky pie crust recipe I used but I would recommend using a Pillsbury pie crust if you can. This particular recipe would be wonderful for a pie but it is a little too flaky and dry for beef wellington pastry. The selling point for me was that I had all four ingredients and I didn’t want to go to the store. What’s the point of being inventive and using leftovers to make a new recipe if half of the new recipe you have to make a list and get from the store, I mean really?!?! Plus, I’m cheap… I mean frugal.

Flaky Pie Crust Ingredients:

  • 3 cups All-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 3/4 cup Vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup Milk

Mix together flour and salt making a well to pour in milk and oil. Mix with a spoon and when dough balls together, continue kneading on flour dusted area. Using a rolling-pin, shape dough into a rectangle. It may be easier to roll between two sheets of wax paper. This recipe makes two 9 inch pie crusts in case you were wondering.

After I rolled out the pastry to desired shape, I mashed my meatballs in a bowl to make a filling for the pastry. At this point you can add any additional spices you may want. Since these swedish meatballs were in a gravy in the fridge, they had some of the sauce mixed in even though I strained most of it out to use for a gravy topping later. You could really use any kind of beef even ground beef, but if the meat seems dry try adding one egg and bread crumbs to the mixture or a little gravy. I thought this would also be a good recipe to use leftover meatloaf and reshape it to lay inside pastry.

When you have the meat mixture in center along pastry, fold over the edges to cover meat and form what looks like a stromboli.At this point I brushed the outside with butter just for a nice touch. Bake at 425 degrees until browned. Slice as you serve and I recommend serving with an au jus or gravy.

Leave a comment