Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

I had wanted to make a homemade spaghetti sauce over the weekend so I could freeze some and keep some for recipes during the week. I am trying to be more budget conscious with our family’s food bill each month. I just made the best spaghetti sauce in the crock pot on Saturday and let it cook on low for 8 hours. I have a large crock pot so be prepared for a full large crockpot of spaghetti sauce goodness. Also, you may want to prepare with containers to freeze some sauce. I was scrounging because I did not. You can use freezer bags, canning jars or plastic containers, but keep in mind it will stain plastic. Now remember, I have picky eaters in my family so I puree all the canned tomato and sauces in my food processor. You may prefer the chunks of tomatoes and want to omit the food processor completely. Whichever you prefer is fine.

I added sugar to this recipe for my family’s taste. I think it needs a little and I add more when I warm it over the stove if I’m making spaghetti.

 

Ingredients:

2 28oz cans crushed tomatoes or Pomi strained tomatoes

2 28oz cans tomato sauce

1 28oz can tomato puree (or cheap jar of spaghetti sauce works)

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

3 tbsp minced garlic (I use garlic powder)

2 bunches basil (or 2 tbsp basil paste or 2 tsp dried basil)

It is preferred that you mill the crushed tomatoes. I pureed them in the food processor, so use your best judgement. If you are using Pomi tomatoes, just skip this step. Place in crock pot with tomato puree, both cans of tomato sauce, basil, parmesan cheese and garlic. At this point if you want to make a meat sauce, add your cooked ground meat, meatballs or seared italian sausage. I prefer to add the meat as I am warming it over the stove for whatever meal I am making that night. Give the sauce a good stir and cook on low for 8 hours. Be sure to place a spoon in the crock pot before placing the lid on to cook. The condensation from a tight-fitting lid makes the sauce runny.

After 8 hours have passed, you’re ready to use this delicious sauce for anything your heart desires.

Leave a Reply

