Banana Bread Recipe

While growing up my mom made a lot of recipes from scratch. It wasn’t until I was in college and lived in my own apartment that I realized my friends came over to eat dinner at my place pretty often because of my mother’s wonderful recipes. One of my fondest memories was her banana bread. One of the tricks to banana bread is to use over ripe bananas and buttermilk. If you don’t have buttermilk just substitute regular cow’s milk.

Every year my mother and grandmother order pecans Sunnyland Farms in Georgia to be delivered to all of our homes. I am spoiled by wonderful Georgia pecans but you can substitute any nuts you would like.

Ingredients:

1/2 c butter
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
3 large mashed bananas
1 c sugar
2 c flour
3 tbsp buttermilk
1 1/2 c pecans, chopped

Cream butter, sugar and eggs. Beat well. Add flour and baking soda that has been dissolved in buttermilk.  Add the bananas and chopped pecans. Bake in greased loaf pan at 350 degrees for one hour.

Leave a Reply

