Creamy Green Bean Casserole

When I met my husband I inherited some family recipes with he and his children. My stepdaughters love this version of green bean casserole. I don’t believe they have ever tasted any other version. I had to practice making this dish until I got it just right. Not that it is hard to make, but the bar was set very high for me. Lots of things about this recipe can be changed to your preference such as cheeses, toppings and the style of green beans you prefer. I have tried to double this recipe before in the same dish, but I have not been successful. Each time it turns out to be soppy. I would just suggest making two pans if you choose to do this.

ingredients:

2 cans french cut green beans
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp finely chopped onion or onion powder
1 pt sour cream
1/2 lb swiss cheese
corn flakes – to cover
2 tbsp melted butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter casserole dish. combine butter, flour, salt, pepper, sugar, onion and sour cream in sauce pan. Stir until thick. Combine beans. Pour into casserole dish. Cover with cheese, then top with corn flakes and melted butter. Bake for 20 minutes uncovered.

Leave a Reply

