Chili Mac and Cheese

Tried this recipe today because it is 28 degrees outside on the North Carolina coast and we needed something to warm us from the inside out. My family likes macaroni and cheese and loves chili, so this one looked good. I modified a recipe I found on damndelicious.net. My husband will not eat chunky tomato sauce or tomatoes for that matter but loves ragu and ketchup. My family does not like to see onions in anything so I use onion powder or dried minced onions in recipes. I was also out of the minced garlic I keep in the fridge that I purchase at the dollar tree by the way. Great place to get spices on the cheap. For this I have to modify a lot of recipes to be more kid friendly for my husband.

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • garlic powder 1 tsp
  • onion powder 2 tsp
  • 8 ounces ground beef
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 3/4 cup canned white kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3/4 cup canned kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  •  salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 10 ounces elbows pasta
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves for garnish (optional)

Cook ground beef, onion powder and garlic powder in pot until browned making sure to crumble the meat as it cooks. Drain fat and add beans and tomato sauce as well as chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper. Stir while adding chicken broth and bring to a simmer. Stir in pasta and bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat and simmer until pasta is cooked through, about 13 minutes. Remove from heat. Top with cheese and cover until melted, about 2 minutes. Serve with extra cheese and top with parsley if desired.

I didn’t make cornbread but I think it would make a great addition to this meal. Let me know what you think and if you have any other additions to this recipe.

Leave a Reply

