Vinegar Clean Your Washer

I love to wash clothes and feel so accomplished when they are all cleaned, but I do hate to put them away. I hate even more to see baskets of clean clothes sitting around. This is the chaos I live with in my head. A few years back I found out about cleaning your washer with vinegar to help it work more efficiently and cut all the soap scum that can build up. It’s super easy to do and you just start it and walk away.

I have an older top loading machine but you can also implement this method on a newer top loader as well as a front loading washer.

Older top load washer: Place on the longest setting and fill with hot water. Add 3 cups of distilled vinegar and let it sit for 30 minutes and then run its cycle.

Newer top load washer: Place on the clean setting and add 2 cups of vinegar to the dispenser and run the cycle.

Front load washer: Select the hot water setting and largest load adding 1-2 cups of vinegar to the dispenser (only until full). Run the cycle wiping down the drum and the seal afterwards.

You can scrub down your washer after doing this but I usually don’t. I find that as long  as you leave the washer door open for 30 min to an hour after the last load and let it air dry, it stays cleaner longer. I live in North Carolina so it gets hot enough here that anything dries quickly. Let me know how this works for you and maybe you have some extra tips.

 

Leave a Reply

